New

Happy New Year! It is 2015 – a brand spanking new year!

All clean and crisp with no dings or scratches.

Yet.

Like a new notebook, I love a new year. And this year, I am especially excited to turn the virtual calendar page. 2014 will be remembered as one of the toughest yet. It was a year full of emotions; excitement, pride, fear, apprehension, relief, and extreme sadness. I felt emotions at a depth I don’t think I have before. And many in such a short span of time. I never envisioned my strongest grief coming in the midst of huge milestones for my children. But the world did not stop for us. It never does when someone is deep in grief. It kept spinning seemingly faster and faster. It is ironic, the way really significant moments can be eclipsed by the momentous things.

The end of 2013 we said goodbye to our family pet Gracie after 10 years and I said goodbye to a very comfortable job of nearly 7 years.  At the same time Hubby changed positions at his company and move to a much less stressful position, I took the helm at a new organization going through huge transition. We were prepared for changes in the year ahead.

We had no idea.

Change is hard. Good or bad causes, wanted or unwanted, it’s always challenging.

Losing my dad, sending our Middle Son off to a summer internship and then college, it was all hard. It was a season of loss.

But I would be remiss if I didn’t also highlight the beautiful, gracious and inspired things that happened as well.

I gained understanding I didn’t know I was missing. I developed a much more personal understanding of loss and have found myself in a position to support others in their grief. I would not have had that understanding had I not experienced that loss.

I stumbled onto a class that provided me a network of colleagues to learn and grow from, and where I am encouraged in my professional endeavors.

I have seen my boys each grow up, becoming more compassionate and more responsible for themselves. They have stepped in to fill gaps left by my grief, they have taken charge of their own futures in made plans and decisions to move forward. It is so encouraging to see the plans they are making.

I have developed deep friendships. Women with whom I can share the ugly parts of me and not be judged. Priceless.

Life is scary, but I am stronger than I thought. I can survive. And yet, I am fragile. I am deserving of the tenderest of care and compassion.

I have learned that life is fragile. That nothing is forever. It is up to me to make right with people and with myself. I can’t control when my time comes, but I can know that I have no regrets. Nothing left unsaid.

And I still know how to write. Thought maybe I forgot that:).

Cheers to a new year! Full of new opportunities, adventures, challenges and I’m sure sadness and disappointment.

Regardless, I’m looking forward to New!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Legacy

Leave a Reply

