God Doesn’t Have Grandchildren

Last weekend I spent a few days on my brother’s farm in North Iowa with 70+ cousins, aunts, uncles, cousins’ kids and siblings. It was an amazing weekend for me. I truly enjoy spending time with these people. The shared history is a part of it, but there’s more. I actually connect with these people. They get me. And I get them. I really wish we spent more time together.

We rented a bus to tour all the places our grandparents lived in North Iowa. It was surreal to be standing on the foundation of the farm-house where my mother grew up and doing a reenactment with a few cousins of picture of us from nearly 40 years ago. {My cousin Carolyn blogged about it here.} We played ridiculous games {think panty hose on our heads, pretzels in our mouths and water balloons on our laps} and ate lots of great food. We reminisced about our memories of our grandparents, our parents shared memories of their childhood and we laughed at the really bad hairdos had by all.

Woven throughout the weekend was much conversation about the amazing example our grandparents set for us. They were married 50+ years when grandpa passed away. And they loved each other til the end. As I scanned 80+ years of pictures I noticed that they were always holding hands. They loved each other and they weren’t afraid to show it. And the stories that were shared about their faith were inspiring. The steadfastness of their belief in Jesus as their Savior, the many recollections of how their prayers brought the very presence of God into the room, the memories of them reading their Bibles every day. All testaments to the strong tradition of faith from which I come.

We ended the weekend with a worship service in the machine shed with the rain pouring down on the tin roof. Family sharing their gifts of music and understanding the Word. It was a moving experience for me. Worshiping God in a room full of people I love with all my heart. Amazing. But the thing that convicted my heart deeply was something my Aunt Vel said.

God doesn’t have grandchildren.

We are all children of God. And we are saved by grace. But we can’t ride on the faith coattails of our grandparents. Our faith must be our own. Without having a personal relationship with my God, I’m missing the point. Coming from such a tradition of faith may give me a head start; knowing the steps and having the example. But each of us must make the journey for ourselves.

I know I fall short of this. At times I lose sight of what’s important and get my priorities a little out of whack. God knows too. And He knows my heart. I feel blessed and convicted by a family who loves me unconditionally and is not afraid to hold me accountable.

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Intention, Legacy

2 responses to “God Doesn’t Have Grandchildren

  1. Well said, Judy. Thank you.

  2. Letha Markwardt

    It was a truly great weekend. And very well said. We can not get to heaven any way but with a personal relationship with Christ. And it adds so much meaning to every moment knowing you are following Christ. (Well most of the time – seeing as I am not perfect and never will be – but God understands.) He knows our hearts.

Leave a Reply

