Intention

I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of a word for the year. Have you heard this idea? Choosing a word to define a time in your life. Or choosing a word to live  your life by. I haven’t done this before, but have been intrigued by the idea.
I think the word that would define the last year is capacity. I feel like it was a year of being stretched to capacity. Of doing everything in my capacity. Really maxed out. Not all in bad ways, but still maxed out.

I didn’t really know I was thinking about a word for this year. It came to me much more organically than that. I’ve been mulling it over for almost a month. After much thought I’ve decided my word for this year is INTENTION. It is such an integral component of where I see myself going.

I want to live my life intentionally; not waiting around to see what happens or making decisions in isolation. I want to think things through in the larger context of my life. I want to move my life forward making progress toward my goals. I want to move forward in a deliberate way, knowing that the things I do are things I have chosen. Changing from reacting to all that happens around me, to intentionally choosing my path. Owning how I spend my time, how it reflects my priorities and passions.

I want to make choices, carefully considering the options. Actually making decisions about the best options. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in life. To be like a tiny leaf on a rapid-flowing river. Bouncing along, out of control. I don’t want out of control. I want intentioned. deliberate. purposeful. It feels right. To make decisions in the bigger context of my life and my world.

I’m not sure what happens from here. Maybe I put it on the wall in my office and my home. Maybe I look for inspiration about my word. I don’t know. I do know that I’ve been sitting with it for a few weeks and it feels right.

2013 word of the year: Intention

2 Comments

Filed under Goals, Intention, Lifestyle

2 responses to “Intention

  1. Great word choice! Although my word for 2012 was Connection, our family had a lot of discussion around “Intentional” during the holidays. Have you read My One Word http://myoneword.org/ or One Perfect Word? I haven’t settled on my word for this year … still considering.
    Hope all is well in your world!

  2. Pingback: When it Rains it Pours | Considering the Options

Leave a Reply

