My God is That Big

I’ve been struggling to get in the Christmas spirit. For some reason, I’m just not there this year. I have tried doing things to get there. I joined an advent study group, something I always appreciate. We put up the Christmas decorations, lots of teal and a little purple. Last night we went to the Blues Christmas musical concert put on by the talented musicians at our church. We’ve done quite a bit of shopping and even had one family Christmas already. But, I’m just not there. And I couldn’t put my finger on why.

This morning I awoke to a text message telling me school was cancelled due to weather. We had heard this was coming, but frankly, it rarely pans out here. I got up and looked out the window to see a blanket of white over everything. That’s it. I needed snow. A white Christmas.

My first thought, “Thank you God for bringing snow to put me in the Christmas spirit. You know what I need, even when I don’t.”

My second thought, “God has much more important things to deal with.” I know there are so many people who are hurting in our world. People who have lost a child. Spouses who suddenly find themselves alone for the first time. Families without homes and starving children. Why would God spend time thinking about me. Someone who by all standards lives a charmed life. I have everything I need. My problems are small. Trivial. I honestly felt a little ashamed for thinking that snow was for me.

And then I had another thought, and this one was an epiphany for me. My God is big enough to worry about me and all his children. He has the whole world in his hands. I’m projecting human capacity on my God and He is so much bigger than that! Just like I have the capacity to love each of my children, God has the capacity, and desire, to love and care for each of his children. I matter to Him. He knows when I’m hurting and He cares. I’m not insignificant to my God. He loves me dearly.

Wow! That’s pretty awesome.

And He knows when a snowfall will help me prepare to celebrate his birth. And he cares.

Maybe you knew this already. Maybe you are fully aware of how loved you are. I just hadn’t ever thought of it that way.

My God is that big!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Holidays

2 responses to “My God is That Big

  1. Sheryl

    I love those God moments when He reveals something to me. Thanks for sharing yours. I get a daily post from Proverbs 31 ministries with Gwenyth Whitwer (Sp?) and when I first read your blog I thought it was one of her devotionals. You are a very good writer, Judy.

  2. Letha Markwardt

    Amen to that. He even knows the number of hairs on your head.

Leave a Reply

