The Morning After

The election is over. There is a victor. I voted for the Romney/Ryan ticket on the presidential ballot because I believe that is what our country needed. And today I am deeply disappointed. That’s how it is in every election. There will be winners and losers, those who are relieved and those who are sick to their stomach. That is nothing new. But in the day of social media it is all played out in real-time. People type before thinking and hide behind the anonymity of the internet.

Platitudes and flowery pleas to all come together abound. It is the morning after the election and it seems I am supposed to set aside my convictions, forget my concerns and rally behind the winner. It’s done and it’s time to move on. Trust the process and support the results win or lose. 

But I don’t think that’s how it really works. I do trust our electoral process, that doesn’t mean I always agree with the outcome. And honestly, to tell me to move on feels like a condescending pat on the head. As though I should suddenly set aside my beliefs and get onboard the train. Like the opinions that informed my vote are no longer important. I think it is appropriate to take some time and give some space to those who don’t agree with the decision the country made.

The reality is our country is extremely divided. An election won by a 2% margin {looking at the popular vote} is by no means a mandate. That means it will take a great deal of effort to be the president of both halves of the country. Half of the people in this country have real and valid concerns about where we have been and where we are headed. That needs to be acknowledged and validated. There is much progress to be made in serving all of the country.

In the interest of moving forward, I will do my best to calm the knot of worry in my stomach and support the man who our country elected president. But can I have a minute please? And I will do my best to forget the frustration and disappointment I have felt at the way things have gone for the last four years, to start fresh with an open mind and a clean slate. That won’t be easy.

But I do ask for something of our President in return.

I ask that our president serve all of the country, not just those who voted for him. That he listen to the concerns of all of the country and try to understand and serve those who think differently than he does. I ask that he work for all of us.

I hope our president will be mindful of the fact that, like many before him, he did not win the hearts of the vast majority of this country. And I hope that he will work tirelessly to earn the trust and respect of those who did not vote for him. That he will work to unite our country; rather than divide. Only when the president is able to find intersections of agreement and build consensus will he truly move our country forward.

Our president now has the freedom to move forward any agenda he desires without concerns of re-election. I hope that he will take seriously his responsibility to all the people of this country and make it his legacy to unite our country. Truly listen with humility and an open mind to those who believe differently. Seek common ground, intersections in beliefs and universal passions. Desire earnestly to unite our country through compromise and collaboration.

If our president can do that, he will earn my trust and respect.

Maybe we the people, through our ever-present social media can set that example. Maybe we can seek to understand before being understood. Seek points of agreement to build upon. Do you think we could show each other the same respect online that we would when talking in person? Maybe we could give each other some space and time to adjust. Could we respect each other’s opinions and beliefs without discarding our own? Now that would be real progress.

6 Comments

Filed under The State of Affairs

6 responses to “The Morning After

  1. I’m very much with you on this. I am also deeply dissapointed. All we can do is hope for the best.

  2. Kerrie

    Beautifully put, Judy. Thank you for putting it so eloquently and for speaking for those of us still licking our wounds…..

  3. Letha Markwardt

    Very well put. So proud of you!

  4. Kim Gregory

    Judy, I love your blogs. you are truly gifted with your way with words. May I share this on facebook?

    Kim

  5. Marlene Bredlow

    Well said, Judy. I truly agree. I have never been no upset about an election result as I was this one.
    The only positive thing is that I know that God is in control and He will work out His plan and purpose in all things.

Leave a Reply

