Sideboard

I made my first Craig’s List purchase  a month ago. Middle Son went with me to check it out. It is a really solid piece of furniture! So he and the seller loaded it in our van, I paid the man and we headed home. I have to say I was a bit creeped out by the idea of going to a stranger’s house to buy something. But we survived just fine.

I had been searching for a while for something to use in my dining room. I had a shelf I had purchased and painted when we first moved into this house. It worked, but all the shelves were open and I really wanted a cleaner look; something with doors or drawers. I’ve seen some great repurposed mid-century hutches that I really like, but I have this awesome mantel on the wall. So I really needed a sideboard rather than a hutch.

I knew I wanted to paint it, although when I stripped it I did hesitate for a minute. The wood looked so good! But I already have two shades of wood with my floor and table. I don’t want to throw another in the mix. So on went the primer.

As a side note, I found a great no-odor stripper that I could use in the house. Good thing since it was getting cold outside.

We picked a yellow a few shades darker than our living room. It was actually paint I already had and it really pops against the red-orange walls.

I really  love how it turned out!

I love the clean lines.

Since it was such a simple design, I added quirk with the drawer pulls.

Each drawer has a different pull.

Love them all! And the best part of the whole thing?

Ok, there are two best parts.

  1. I only spent $100 on the entire project! Perfect for a frugal girl like me:).
  2. I started and finished this project in the same month! {I would have been done more quickly, but I had a weekend out-of-town for work in the middle.} I never finish a project that quickly!

I also have lots of free space in the hall closet where I used to keep many of the things that are now in my sideboard.

Yay for upcycled furniture! Yay for storage space! Yay for finished projects! And Yay for getting to be creative!

4 Comments

Filed under Home Improvement

4 responses to “Sideboard

  1. Looks fabulous – congrats on all accounts. Way to go!!

  2. Very cool. It looks awesome.

  3. Joleen

    Love it. There is a new store in Old Shawnee on Nieman next to the flower shop. It is an old house (can’t remember the name) but the lady does repurpose too! I haven’t been there yet. But, she is going to offer classes as well! I hope to take one. Thanks for sharing your awesome before and after photo’s too!

  4. rynnasaryonnah

    Each drawer has a different pull – great idea!

Leave a Reply

