Big Day

Today is a big day at our house.

These little guys…

Now look like this.

Youngest Son just left for his first day of high school. I don’t know where the time went. I hear parents say that all the time, and it sounds so corny. I think their elementary years do go by slowly. Maybe because there is less transition happening each year. But, once they hit middle school change is the norm. Each year brings something new and different. And take that times three kids, just two years apart each, and you have constant change. It’s all for the good {mostly:)},  but change is still hard work.

My living room is full of boxes, carpet scraps, gaming systems, a giant cardboard dough boy, and pretty much everything Oldest Son cares about. And his room is very empty. The pictures that have hung on the wall for years are down and packed away. The bulletin board full of memorabilia has been cleaned off and put away. The room is ready for Youngest Son to move into. Middle and Youngest Sons have shared a bedroom for the last 10 years. Prior to that all three boys shared a room. They are tight like that. They all slept in one room and used the other for their toys. They like each other. Which makes this transition all the harder.

Soon we will load all of Oldest Son’s things in the van and head off to college. It’s a good thing. He’s picked a good school and I know he will thrive there. It’s good.

But I am going to miss him terribly. I’m going to miss talking to him every night. Miss having him around to give me perspective on what his brothers are dealing with. I’ll miss his sense of humor and always positive attitude. And I will miss our family together. I will miss ridiculous dinners with flying biscuits. I’ll miss the hallway surfing and wrestling matches in the living room {Really! I will!}

It is really all pretty selfish of me. My life will never be the same. I know there are good times ahead of us. I know it’s good, and it’s what we’ve apparently been preparing for, but it’s still hard. I don’t think it really occurred to me when I was trying to teach him everything he needed to know to be successful in life, that I was getting him ready to leave. You are preparing them for something that will be so painful for yourself. You want it for your child, but man it’s uncomfortable for you as a parent. I guess it’s kind of like childbirth – the most painful, awesome experience imaginable. I hope I get 6-8 weeks to recover from this too!

And if their leaving the nest is just like their birth…please know Middle Son, it may be even harder when it’s your time to go. And it may take me much longer to recover. {Heaven help us all!} And Youngest Son, when it comes time for you to move out, remember how quick and easy your birth was? Don’t be offended if it is quick and painless for me. That’s just what happens with the third child. It doesn’t mean I love you any less – I’ve just learned how cope.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Legacy, Parenting

3 responses to “Big Day

  1. allaccesspass

    Such handsome boys and such a bittersweet time I am sure. Good luck in the coming days when your oldest leaves for school.

  2. Pingback: 3 Awesome Things – about back to school | Considering the Options

  3. Pingback: On the Precipice | Considering the Options

Leave a Reply

