Vacation Whiplash

I was on vacation all last week. We didn’t take a trip other than a visit to my parents for a couple of days. Hubby worked most of the week and the boys stayed in Iowa visiting grandparents. So essentially, I had a vacation from my mom responsibilities and my full-time, paid work. It was lovely. I made my to-do list for the week, planned some fun things, and then let the week unfold.

It’s always bittersweet when a week off work comes to an end. I love my job and I know that once I get back in the office I will hit the ground running. There is so much to do right now and being gone a week only compounds it. But I also really enjoyed being “free” all week! I did what I felt like doing each day; cleaning a couple of days, sewing one day and was even free to take friends up on offers of lounging in the pool. How could I not be a little sad at that coming to an end?? Isn’t that what we all really want – the ability to be free to choose how we want to spend each day?

In reality, we have that. We just don’t always realize it. We really have a lot of control over our own destiny. Do you believe me? I think that’s hard to take in because it changes things. If I can choose my path then there is no one to blame for being miserable, but ME. That means I can’t keep doing the same thing and complain that I’m not fulfilled. If I have control over my destiny, then I also have responsibility for it.

I can decide what time to get up in the morning; early enough to run through the shower, get ready and fly to work showing up late or I can get up early enough to exercise, blog, craft or have breakfast with a friend before I go in. I can plan my evenings around the people and activities that are important to me. I can make choices that move me toward my personal goals and the things that feed my soul. Or. I can trudge through life wishing it were different. Making the same choices over and over again and wondering why I am not moving forward.

It’s really rather empowering to think about! All I have to do is decide where I want to go and make a plan to get there. When I’m working the plan daily, even though I haven’t reached my goal, I feel successful and fulfilled. I’m not just going through the motions. I’m living deliberately! What a great feeling!

Wondering how to take the steps to make that happen for you? I just happen to have a good friend, Rhonda Hale Warren, who can help you! She is a life, wellness and career coach and will be guest blogging for me this week with some tips on how to get started!

2 Comments

Filed under Goals, Lifestyle

2 responses to “Vacation Whiplash

  1. Well said. Take control and responsibility.

  2. Pingback: Living Deliberately | Considering the Options

Leave a Reply

