Finally Friday

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted and that’s just not ok with me! I love writing and hate it when life gets too busy. It has definitely been crazy, of course. Here’s a recap of what I’ve been up to over the last two weeks.

I discovered we had a Saturday afternoon where the whole family was FREE! As in, had nothing scheduled! We snatched the opportunity and headed to a local lake. We haven’t been to any of the local lakes. {Let me just say, I don’t think there are any natural lakes in Kansas. And maybe not even in Missouri. All of them are man-made, dammed up rivers. I think its weird.} We had a great time. So relaxing. Can’t wait to do it again!

The next day we sent Middle Son off on a mission trip to Memphis, Tennessee. They worked for a group rehabing houses. He shingled a roof all week. And no one fell off! I call that a total success. And he had fun!

I’ve been swamped at work. We have an open position in our department and that means there is lots of slack to be picked up! There is alway more to do than you can accomplish in a non-profit, but when you are short staff…uffda. It makes for long days. I have great morning light in my office, but some days it just highlights all the work I have to do:).

I found this at Goodwill. It totally took me back! Back to our first place together. It was a duplex and I had two of these awesome giant fans on the wall. I loved them. Seeing it reminded me of the early days in our marriage. When things were simpler and I thought they were so hard. HA! If I could sit down with my newlywed self I think I would have a lot to share.

We also sent Youngest Son off on a mission trip. He went to Minneapolis, Minnesota. They volunteered at different service agencies. This was his first trip without family along. And he loved it!

We went to our first auction! And we are hooked! It was so much fun! I was pretty scared to bid at first, but I got over it soon enough. Bought some awesome old jars, all by myself. Spent a whopping $2.50 on them. That’s not all we bought. We also got a great pot for cooking corn on the cob, and a shovel. Four hours, $16.50 and great entertainment!

I did some traveling for work. A quick trip to Dallas, Texas. Good thing there was lots of art in the hotel! My days were jam-packed with meetings and networking. It was an awesome trip, but much like the last work trip. I never left the hotel.

When I got back Hubby and I spent a great afternoon visiting a couple wineries in a quaint little town nearby. It was a perfect afternoon. And the best part, Hubby planned it all on his own!

The boys came home the same day. Oldest Son was home the whole time and frankly a bit stir crazy. When they got home he had plans with friends who were back in town. When he left we got a call. Begging us to come out and get his brothers off his hood! I guess they missed their brother.

Somewhere in there we snuck in a fire in our new fire pit. Good times. There is something about a fire that just makes us all reflective.

We finished this week out with a FREEZE MOB! How cool is that?! Cross that off my bucket list!

It’s been a good couple weeks. And now I’m looking forward to a weekend of relaxing. And maybe an auction:)!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Instagram, Lifestyle, Randomness

One response to “Finally Friday

  1. What a beautiful family you have! Congrats on the little window of “nothing scheduled!” I totally can relate to how unusual that is (my own kids are 5 and 9) Lovely post!
    anne

Leave a Reply

