Magical Spinning Plates

You know that guy at the circus that spins a whole cadre of plates balanced on thin sticks? He starts with just one, then two, then before you know it he has 5 or 10 spinning. He constantly has to go back to the beginning and reenergize the first plates. He keeps all of them spinning to keep them from crashing to the ground in a thousand pieces. Constantly moving from one plate to another working his way up and down the row he keeps all the plates balanced. Always keeping an eye on the other plates, while giving a boost of energy to the one in front of him.

I think it looks exhausting. The kind of thing I would say, “eh, does it really matter?” and let them all fall. But it’s also totally impressive that he can do that! You would have to have eyes in the back of your head and be totally focused. You couldn’t get distracted by anything. You would have to be so determined.

I found this video of a plate spinner that appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show in 1969. If you want to be inspired you should take a look.

http://youtu.be/Zhoos1oY404

So this post isn’t really about plate spinners. I just feel like it is. I’ve been thinking over the last few days that being a plate spinner must be a lot like being a MOM.

It’s a lot of work -exhausting. And sometimes Moms have to wonder, “eh, does it really matter?” But it also looks really impressive when you see someone do it well. So focused.

I feel like I have tables full of spinning plates. There is a table for each of my boys. And one for my husband. And one for my career. And one for all the family things I manage. And each table has so many plates. Sports, school, health, relationships, college, career, faith. So many plates to keep spinning. Things that need a little nudge now and then to keep going, to maintain stability. And just when you have that table looking steady, you notice it out of the corner of your eye. Another table of plates is about to come crashing down. Quick, get there, give them a nudge.

That’s what being a mom is like. Exhausting. But completely inspiring when its done well.

2 Comments

Filed under Lifestyle, mom, Parenting

2 responses to “Magical Spinning Plates

  1. What a great analogy… Makes perfect sense to me and I love that you posted this right when I needed to read it. Thanks for knowing my thoughts before I do…. Just wish you lived closer so we could sit down and talk over coffee (or wine?)! Keep writing… It’s great!

    • Funny timing Ali because this post was in my head for a couple weeks and in my drafts for several days. Just finally felt like it was time to post it. Timing is everything:)! Yes, the geography stinks. Maybe we’ll have to do a virtual glass of wine- I’m not grown up enough for coffee:)!

Leave a Reply

