Finishing Some Things

You might remember on my birthday this year I decided to do some things 45 times in the year leading up to my 45th birthday. I’ve named it my 45 times by 45. Today I have an update! I’ve been working on all 7 areas, but some are going much better than others. I think that was part of my plan. Some will come pretty naturally, and some not so much. I have to say, sadly, the hardest one has been to commit random acts of kindness. I’m just not sure what to do. That makes me sound like a selfish person. Or at least not a very kind person. The real struggle is, what counts as a random act of kindness. I’m thinking just letting a car in my lane during rush hour doesn’t really count. Anyway, suggestions are welcome. I’ll keep thinking and working on this one.

I’ve also not done great at the photo one. Actually, I’ve been picking up my camera pretty much daily! But part of the challenge was to blog the photos I take on my other blog – From My Perspective. That’s where I’ve fallen down. I’ll have to pick some of my favorites and start posting them.

The other challenge has been with getting out of my comfort zone. I’m finding it hard to find opportunities to get out. I’m sure if I tried harder I could, but I’m also pretty busy so seeking out other opportunities is just one more thing to do. At this point, the times I have gotten out of my zone have been at work. I guess that’s a good thing:). And then there was eating broccoli and cauliflower – that’s way out of my comfort zone!

What I have done surprisingly well at is finishing projects! I know, I’m shocked too! If you know me at all you know this one is a stretch for me. So far I’ve finished 4 projects. Only one of which I hadn’t started before my birthday. That one I started and finished in 24 hours!!! Crazy huh?! So here are the pictures of what I’ve finished.

This is a frame I had started a LONG time ago! And it was actually finished before my birthday…

But I never got around to hanging it. I had a place for it, just needed to hang it. Done!

 

Then there was the ornament wreath. I saw a beautiful version of this on Whatever -my favorite blog last spring. Then on pinterest I found a tutorial that seemed a little easier process than the original. I’m all about easier! 

I’d been picking up ornaments at garage sales for a few months. It went together really easily!

Another pinterest inspired project! It’s made from paint chips and I love the color!

So simple. See the other ideas she has here.

 

And the last project was inspired by this blog. I saw her camera strap and fell in love! It’s just what my camera needed:). She sent me to this tutorial that was fabulous! I used fabric I already had and did it in just 24 hours! I don’t have great pics of it since I put it on my camera right away:)!

 

My first project with my new sewing machine! I think I want to sew some more. I’d forgotten how much fun it is!

So there you have it. An update on what I’ve been finishing. Feels pretty good.

2 Comments

Filed under 45 times by 45

2 responses to “Finishing Some Things

  1. This weekend, a guy gave me his paid parking ticket. The saturday fee at the parking lot is 5 dollars for the day, and he saw me at the ticket machine, got back out of his car and passed it on. Seems like something that requires zero effort on the part of the person giving me the ticket, but it was so nice, and really cheered my day. I passed the ticket on to someone when I left as well. It’s a small thing, but i’d count it as an act of kindness.

Leave a Reply

