My New 50mm

I bought myself a new toy tool! I am crazy excited about it. Can’t wait to use it!

Ok, actually I already used it. Just a little bit.

It’s the lens I’ve been wanting for some time. It will be great for portrait photography.

Shiny and new and beautiful.

It will allow me take pictures in lower light situations without a flash.
And it will help me get great bokeh.
But I am most excited because I totally understand why I needed this lens and what it will do for me!

You see how the lights on the tree are all circles? And how the background is blurred?

The blur in the background and the sharp focus on the subject. That’s what I’m going for.

That blur and the way the lights look in it is bokeh. And the lower the f-stop or aperture on your lens the better the bokeh.
I found a blog that explains bokeh and different lenses really well. You should check it out if you want to learn more about lenses. They do a great job of explaining all the components and what they mean. In general terms, not just the geeky language. Its …kevin {&} amanda

Next step, find some people to take pictures of:)!

PS. Yes, this is how excited my boys get when I want to take their picture. Don’t you love the enthusiasm of Oldest and Middle Sons? Youngest Son is trying hard to be mad…but he just can’t do it:).

4 Comments

Filed under Photography

4 responses to “My New 50mm

  1. Carolyn Olson

    I have an 85mm fixed lens, and I love it! Now I want to put a 50mm on my list! I wouldn’t have to back up as far to get a full face in my shot. 🙂 Have fun playing with your new…tool!

  2. I have a 50mm lens and love it!

  3. holycowimforty

    My 50mm is the sexiest accessory for my camera. If it was a guy, I’d make out with it, lol. I have no doubts that you’ll love it and it will become your favorite lens. Gotta love those “tools.”

Leave a Reply

