Finding Focus

I am totally going in circles lately. I don’t seem to be able to zero in and find my focus. I have lots of exciting things happening – new opportunities presenting themselves. {No, I’m not looking for a new job and a new job hasn’t found me:) For the record, I’m very happy where I am and I have no intention of leaving.} These things are related to my hobbies. And they are good things!

But I’m struggling to make decisions and plans. I think it’s possible I’m over-thinking things a bit. I just really don’t want to jump until I know where I plan to land. Does that make sense? It’s not at all like me to be indecisive. I make decisions quickly and move on. And I don’t often regret my decisions. So why is this so hard?

Maybe because I love both opportunities. They are both things I thoroughly enjoy doing. I could be very happy doing either one. And I will continue with both. It’s just a matter of figuring out which one to focus my energy on right now. In trying to decide, I’m weighing lots of options and thinking thru plans. Sometimes in the middle of all that thinking, things get muddled. It’s time to take a different approach, use a new strategy.

Let’s see…I could follow the advice I give my kids when they just can’t focus.

  • Go for a run. Not likely, but exercise usually clears the mind a bit. And it would certainly fit with our Family Fitness plan.
  • Mix it up. Take a break and do something completely different. I think this is the strategy I employed since I’m cranking out blog posts like crazy tonight – on both blogs. Should be lots to read this week!
  • Make a list and prioritize what you need to do. This one could be helpful. Getting things on paper always helps me. There is something about  a clean tablet and my blue pen that crystallizes ideas for me.
  • Talk it thru. Find a good sounding board and talk things thru. Often, just saying things out loud helps you make a decision. Something about hearing yourself say the words makes the decision real and clear.

I hope to come up with a plan within a week or two. I will most definitely share. Just not ready to do that yet.

So what do you do when you just can get focus? Any ideas are welcome!

2 Comments

Filed under Goals

2 responses to “Finding Focus

  1. Your list sounds a lot like what I suggest to my girls.

    My first choice is to mix it up. I am finding that the exercise option can fit in with that, and it does help me focus. Just a 10-15 minute walk can do wonders to clear your head! 🙂

  2. I find someting completly mundane that doesn’t require brain cells to perform. This allows my creative side to take over. Gardening works as does bicycling on a stationary bicycle. Sometimes it’s comforting music. If nothing else works, just try meditation. You’re guaranteed to think of a million things when you’re trying to meditate.

Leave a Reply

