Too Much of So Many Good Things

There have been so many good things going on I can’t tke it anymore! This fall has been wonderful. And brutal. It started in June. My weekends filled up quickly. Like so fast I didn’t even realize it was happening. And I mean filled up! In the 19 weekends since June 4, I have been home 7. Only 7 weekends at home in 4 1/2 months! That is why I am feeling crazy. And during those 7 weekends, I had Parent’s Day at Scout Camp, senior pictures for Oldest Son, confirmation for Middle Son and Eagle Scout Court of Honor for Oldest Son. That’s all. That leaves 3 whole weekends free. Free to do everything that was put off for weeks. Free to plan for the next weeks I will be gone. It’s definitely been crazy and pushed me into survival mode. It’s also made me realize a few things.

  1. You can get too much of a good thing. Almost all the things I’ve been gone for have been really fun things. There have been a few work weekends in there, but mostly fun. And it’s still completely exhausting.
  2. Some things can wait. I’ve put lots of things off over the last 4 1/2 months and that’s been fine. The dust will pile up whether I try to remove it weekly or not.
  3. Some things can’t. My poor flower beds are really suffering. I think I only weeded them twice all summer. It’s been a test of what is hardy. And with the dry spell we have been experiencing, well it’s just plain sad.
  4. It’s ok to say no to some things. I’ve been asked to work on a number of projects that I really would have enjoyed, but I’ve had to say no. And I’m finally ok with that. Other opportunities will come and the timing will be better then. Saying no doesn’t mean I don’t value something, it just means I value balance more.

But the biggest lesson I’ve learned {or maybe that I’m still learning} is to be present in the moment. With so many things going on, I have a tendency to get caught up in my calendar. Always looking forward. And it’s overwhelming. It’s good to know what’s on the horizon. But it’s also good to slow down, look around and really be present in the moment.

Now if I can just remember that last lesson…

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice, Lifestyle, Randomness

Leave a Reply

