The Day My Email Blew Up

One little request to be added to a group. Seems innocent enough. A High school classmate created a group on facebook. You might be from Mason City if….I’m sure there’s one for your town too. She created it in the morning and I requested to be added in the afternoon. When I left work I had a few notifications. And then it happened.

My email BLEW UP.

I had my facebook account set to notify me when someone posted to the wall of the group. It started notifying. And notifying. And notifying.

To the tune of 650 emails in just 3 hours! That’s a whole lot of emails. There may have been more, but I don’t know. My mailbox filled to capacity. And quit receiving.

I deleted. And deleted. And deleted.

And they kept coming.

And then I figured out how to change the notification settings on facebook. And then the emails stopped.

But the little red circle letting me know something new has happened? It’s permanently red. At last check it said, “…and 104 other people posted on…” That’s a lot of comments.

I must say though, its a great walk down memory lane. I had no idea how much I had forgotten about my childhood. And what a shared experience we had. Names are popping up from people I haven’t thought about since 7th grade! And places I used to frequent as a kid. Like WC Franks the hot dog joint/arcade combo. That’s where I learned to play Pac man. The original Pac man where you sat at the machine across from a friend and put your quarters in to play. I remember walking down there, about a mile, many times a week. I can only imagine how much money I spent on that game {and Donkey Kong}.

And the J & C Grocery that was originally called James’ where I bought candy for pocket change. They had a seperate shelf for penny, nickel, dime and quarter candy. I never bought quarter candy. That was way too much to spend when you could get so much more for a dime, two nickels and five pennies. And Mom would send me there to pick up whatever ingredient she might be missing for dinner that night. The owners knew us all by name. There were the bigger grocery stores too, like Warehouse Market with the big flatbed carts and the black grease pens you used to mark the price on each item you selected. Lots of fun was had with my three brothers and those carts. I don’t know if Mom remembers it as fun! And the Piggly Wiggly store that later became something else which became something else.

So many memories of a wonderful childhood. The group is approaching 1,000 in just over 24 hours. And there have been thousands of posts and replies. People reminding each other of places they haven’t thought about in years. A walk down memory lane to the good old days. Funny how, in the midst of all the craziness of life, with all the commitments we have vying for our time 1,000 people have chosen to connect with the place they grew up. And did we have any idea back then how easy it would be to reconnect as adults? That all we would have to do is logon to our computer, sign in to facebook and we could chat in real time with a childhood friend who now lives across the country from us? Or half way around the world? I don’t think I envisioned a day when I could carry the telephone with me in my pocket. When I wouldn’t have to hide in the closet with the really long cord stretched under the door to have a private conversation.

There are a whole lot of things about my childhood that I wish my kids could experience. Like freedom to roam the neighborhood until dark knowing Mom would simply call my name out the door and I would hear her and come home. {Ok, full disclosure: sometimes I could hear her, but I pretended like I couldn’t.} But there are a lot of advantages my kids have that I didn’t. Like the ability to text Mom when they are in an uncomfortable situation so I can call them and tell them they must come home. Or being able to research any topic from the computer in their own bedroom without having to go to the library, find the correct letter book from the encyclopedia and search for the topic. They can google things and Google understands what they were trying to spell; rather than spending hours at the card catalog looking up words, finding the call letters for the book, going to the shelf, only to find someone had checked it out.

I think Billy Joel said it best when he said, “The good ole days weren’t always good and tomorrow ain’t as bad as it seems.”

The good ole days were good, but the here and now isn’t so bad either. Just depends on how you look at it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Legacy, Randomness

Leave a Reply

