Absent

I’ve been sadly absent from my blog for way too long! It could be for any number of reasons. Like, I ran away with the circus and forgot my password. Or I’m enjoying a summer in Europe {ok, I would totally blog about that!}. Or more likely, my boys have taken over the laptops and I have no access to the internet! Or maybe I suffered serious¬†illness after that armpit dance!

Ok, so it’s really not anything that exciting. I’ve just been going 100 mph for the entire month of June. When life gets like this I just have to strap in, hold on and ride it out. Like a car out of control, it’s a matter of holding on and avoiding the big crashes. And there have been a few near catastrophes. But I’m pleased to say we have weathered them beautifully. I’ll try to carve out some time to share the details soon, but for now here’s a few of the highlights.

  • The boys had a great time at Scout camp! And they both showered while they were there! Seems like a given, but if you have a teenage son who’s gone to Boy Scout camp you know its an accomplishment!
  • The whole family went to Chicago {East Garfield Park to be exact} with our youth group for their annual mission trip. It was a life transforming experience! For all of us. I will share the experience soon.
  • Middle Son has quit playing soccer. After 12 years. This was a tough one. It will take a while to share my feelings about this. I’m happy to say Middle Son is doing fabulously!
  • I hosted/worked a retreat for couples living with MS that moved me deeply. MS can be a cruel, debilitating disease and this group happened to be some of the most honest, real, positive, inspiring people I’ve met. I am excited about the connections that were made and the opportunity for people to feel supported in living with MS.
  • My niece is getting married! I’m super excited and making plans for a shower. I remember calling home each night {collect calls, because that’s how we did it back in the day} from the Iowa State Fair to see if my niece or nephew had arrived! Really doesn’t seem like she can be old enough to get married…but she is.
  • I’ve got two fun weekends scheduled to end the summer! A cousin/aunt weekend of scrapbooking and a girls’ weekend at a B&B with lots of wine tasting. I know both weekends will include lots of laughter and feed my soul! That’s the light at the end of this crazy summer.

So there you have it. That’s the highlights of what I’ve been up to. Except whatever it is I’ve forgotten, and I’m pretty sure I’ve fogotten something big.

It’s only been 20 days since I blogged last. Funny, seems like its been months! 20 days is a long time to go without something you love:)!

More soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Randomness

Leave a Reply

