Memorial Day

We watched the movie The Patriot this weekend. About two-thirds of the way thru I remembered I’ve seen it before. That happens to me a lot. I have such a stellar memory I can watch nearly a whole movie without remembering it. It’s a little sad. But I digress.

This movie was hard to watch. Partly because I hate movies with killing. I just can’t stand the blood and gore. I hate it. But also because it was emotionally draining. I had to keep reminding myself I know how it ends. {If you haven’t seen the movie it’s about the American Revolutionary war. It chronicles a man who wanted to find a peaceful resolution and refused to fight. Eventually, the war came to him and he had to get involved. He lost so much.} Obviously, we won. I know this because I didn’t care about watching the Royal Wedding. If we had lost I probably would have had a compelling desire to watch it.

Watching this movie, which I realize was fictional, reminded me of the real suffering of war. The real sacrifices that Americans have made for generations. The lives that were lost. The families torn apart. All because they were so convicted. They believed that freedom was so important that they had to put their life on the line for it. There are very few things in my life I am that convicted about. And yet I benefit from those generations of men and women who made that sacrifice. Because they were so convicted, I am able to make choices and live as I choose. And I take that for granted every day.

On vacation a couple of summers ago we visited Arlington National Cemetery. It was a humbling experience. Visiting the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and watching the changing of the guard was moving.

I am thankful to all those who have served our country. Those who lost their lives fighting for what they believed in. Those who were forever changed because of what they saw. Those who came home and could not bear to go on. And I am thankful for those who are serving today. I appreciate you and your sacrifice.

I am thankful to the families of those who serve today and in the past. Those who move around the country and around the world as orders dictate. The wives and husbands who parent alone while waiting for their spouse to come home. The kids who change schools every year or two as the family moves. Thank you for your sacrifice. I appreciate you.

I hope I can carry a piece of Memorial Day with me every day…

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Holidays, Legacy, The State of Affairs

Leave a Reply

