Addition to the Snowman Scene

I have lots of snowman decorations and love to put them out when I take the Christmas decor down. The house doesn’t feel quite so empty then. So, I knew I had to make this darling snowman piece I saw at my SIL’s house this Christmas. I didn’t take a pic of hers, so recreated it from memory. I think hers may have had red scarves. Actually, mine may look nothing like hers…maybe it’s just what I made up in my head. But, either way hers was the inspiration so Thanks Rose!

I picked up the clear glass vase at a great new thrift shop in Waterloo while we were there. It cost me a whole dollar!

 I used craft paints – I have every color of the rainbow, and at least three shades of each.

I used my finger print to make the white faces. Then used tiny brushes to put the features on. Just spaced them randomly around the vase. {It’s not easy for me to do random – I want to space them evenly, in rows – but I tried.}

I used a bigger brush to do the scarves. I’ll be honest, they didn’t fill in like I wanted them to. I think a second coat might have helped, but I’m not that patient.

The silver spike/swirls are from Hobby Lobby. They cost more than I thought; $10 for the bunch. But, I used less than a fourth of the bunch so it will show up in another project at some point.

I think it turned out really cute! And I started and finished it all in the same day! Those of you who know me, know that’s a big deal!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Decor, Frugal living, Holidays

Leave a Reply

